Block Offer 2017

The Block Offer 2017 tender for petroleum exploration permits is open.

National map

Block Offer 2017 comprises a total acreage of 481,735 km² and includes two onshore, five offshore and one offshore/onshore release areas.

The acreage being tendered is:

  • The Northland-Reinga Offshore Release Area (17NRN-R1) – 150,566 km²
  • The Taranaki Offshore Release Area (17TAR-R1) – 64,978 km²
  • The Taranaki Onshore Release Area (17TAR-R2) – 1,021 km²
  • The Taranaki North Release Area (17TAR-R3) – 1,475 km²
  • The Pegasus - East Coast Offshore Release Area (17PEC-R1) – 49,630 km²
  • The Hawke Bay Offshore Release Area (17PEC-R2) – 5,569 km²
  • The Southland Onshore Release Area (17SLD-R1) – 3,568 km²
  • The Great South - Canterbury Offshore Release Area (17GSC-R1) – 204,928 km²

Release areas do not include:

  • Any land listed in Schedule 4 of the Crown Minerals Act 1991 (including national parks, nature reserves, wildlife sanctuaries and marine reserves).
  • World Heritage sites.
  • Areas of importance to Māori identified in section 3.1 of the Minerals Programme for Petroleum 2013.

View the release areas

Read more about the invitation for bids

Bid questions, answers, and variations

Read about the consultation process for the nominated areas

Last updated:
Find this helpful? Give us your feedback